What’s for Dinner

I only bought it because the enchiladas on the cover looked good, OK?

I only bought it because the enchiladas on the cover looked good, OK?

Tonight, we had cheesy chicken enchiladas that I made last night while watching Justin Timberlake, Miley Cyrus and other spectacles on the MTV Video Music Awards. Barrak put them in the oven when he got home tonight since I got home late. He topped his with some fresh cilantro. I had my customary plop of sour cream, plus pickled jalapenos and fresh cilantro.

My mom makes unbelievably decadent chicken enchiladas that have more of a creamy white sauce. They’re rich and spicy and delish. They’re like the Mexican equivalent of fettucine Alfredo on the triple bypass scale, however. The ones I made tonight called for a red sauce. It’s surprisingly easy to make your own red enchilada sauce but I went for canned here.

I got the recipe from Family Circle magazine. Ahem. Yes, I’m 40 now and I proudly put Family Circle in my cart.

Greta had Totino’s pizza rolls. Magnus was served many things; I’m not sure he actually consumed anything though.

Does it look like the picture? Like the good blogger I am, I forgot to take a beauty shot when it first came out of the oven all melty and bubbly.

Does it look like the picture? Like the good blogger I am, I forgot to take a beauty shot when it first came out of the oven all melty and bubbly.

Barrak gave tonight's dinner a thumbs up... but I still caught him dipping pretzel twists in a jar of Jif.

Barrak gave tonight’s dinner a thumbs up… but I still caught him dipping pretzel twists in a jar of Jif afterward.

Leave a Reply

