What’s for dinner

Trust me: this will be the best dinner we have all week.

Trust me: this will be the best dinner we have all week.

Tonight, I had grilled rosemary chicken with avocado-tomato salsa. It’s the cover recipe on my new Cooking Light 5 ingredient or 15-minute bookazine.

A lot of good recipes and pretty pictures in here!

A lot of good recipes and pretty pictures in here!

Chicken breasts are so big these days, I sliced the two I had in half lengthwise, giving me… that’s right! Four!

The salsa was odd. It called for avocado chunks, halved cherry tomatoes, garlic, fresh oregano, olive oil, red wine vinegar and feta cheese crumbles. Between the vinegar and the feta, it had too much tang. I would make it again and omit the cheese and possibly the vinegar. I didn’t have any garlic or oregano so I substituted a willing shallot and some fresh parsley from my bee-infested herb garden.

Of course, the kids didn’t have any of this. Don’t be ridiculous. They had sauceless chicken wings and drumettes from Water’s Edge Grill.

They had a good day. Patsy took them to the zoo and then took them on the trail by our house to collect buckeyes and river slate.

Now Magnus is sacked out next to me as I watch Andy Murray play at the U.S. Open and have a brownie  and a glass of milk. September heaven.

Peer through the dark and you'll see my baby boy, sacked out on my bed with me.

Peer through the dark and you’ll see my baby boy, sacked out on my bed with me.

2 thoughts on “What’s for dinner

  1. The next time you come over, we should transplant an oregano bush and a rosemary tree before frost. I have pots, so it would be fun to let Greta and Magnus help.

Leave a Reply

