Beauty Haul

I have a bad habit. I have many bad habits, actually. But the one I want to share today is this: when I have to travel, I must buy a few new beauty items. Let me caveat that by saying one of the items below was a gift from my sister. Actually, all of them could be considered gifts because I returned that $95 vitamin C cream to Sephora and used the proceeds to buy some new goodies. Um, except the nail polish. That was purely out of my grocery budget.

Stila Not So Nude palette

This little gem is a gift from my sister, for my 40th birthday. And I lurv it. The palette has eyeshadows that are right in my wheelhouse, and a lovely convertible color cream blush. My sister is a genius when it comes to making someone look pretty. It’s her gift. Bran is a professional aesthetician and make-up artist, and so talented.

Stila makes great palettes, like my new Not So Nude

Stila makes great palettes, like my new Not So Nude

Stila's palette includes the classic Kitten, which I use on my eyelids like my little sister taught me. It also includes a cream blush called Lily.

Stila’s palette includes the classic Kitten, which I use on my eyelids like my little sister taught me. It also includes a cream blush called Lily.

Make Up For Ever Foundation

I was in the market for a new foundation. I got it in my head that either my Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer or my Revlon ColorStay were making me break out. I’m suspicious of both and they’re guilty until proven innocent. I like a foundation that doesn’t have SPF. I’m weird like that. I just don’t want any extra stuff that could cause  havoc. That’s a tough bill to fill. The gal at Sephora recommended Make Up For Ever. I also remembered that’s what Bran uses. A good sign. So I got it in #127. So far, I’m loving it.

Make Up For Ever Powder

I got the travel size of this because a) I wanted to give it a trial run and b) that’s about what I had left on the gift card. I love this stuff! It’s an extremely fine, white powder that goes on invisibly. I reached up to scratch my cheek on the plane and couldn’t believe how soft my own skin was. Chalk it up to the powder, which is super-silky.

Viktor & Rolf's Flowerbomb (travel set), Make Up For Ever face powder, and Make Up For Ever foundation.

Viktor & Rolf’s Flowerbomb (travel set), Make Up For Ever face powder, and Make Up For Ever foundation.

Viktor & Rolf Flowerbomb Perfume 

Ironically, Sephora tucked a sample of this scent into my bag when I bought the pricey vitamin C cream a few weeks ago. Joke’s on you Sephora! I dutifully rubbed every last sticky ounce off the sample paper and onto my wrists before work one morning. For the rest of the day, I kept sneaking a smell. It was so calming! That’s when I officially began coveting it and contemplating the ol’ return. As the name would suggest, Flowerbomb a floral. Just so fresh and lovely. And Barrak likes it. His words were ‘it’s pretty, and kind of funky.’ OK, I’ll take it.

Given my budget and that I’m pretty full up on perfumes right now (oh, and my impending business trip), I got the $35 travel size.

Revlon Vixen

I got inspired to buy this nail polish two ways: I was on a telepresence conference call with a very stylish girl in New York who was wearing this oxblood shade on her nails AND I happened to be perusing the Cupcakes and Cashmere blog and noticed the purveyor of that site considers this a perennial must-have. You’re mine Vixen.

Revlon's Vixen, now playing on my fingers and toes.

Revlon’s Vixen, now playing on my fingers and toes.

2 thoughts on “Beauty Haul

  1. Aww, what a nice compliment, but you give me too much credit! You know every bit as much about makeup and skincare, maybe even more. Btw, where’s the pic of Vixen? I must have it now too! Did you like your Butter of London nail polish?

    • Thanks for letting me know I forget to insert the picture of Vixen. It’s available at your local Kroger! I do like my Butter polish. It’s really pretty; it’s on Greta’s toes right now. I was just in a dark, brooding kind of mood, polish-wise.

Leave a Reply

