Delaware County Fair

Yeah, I’ll admit it: we enjoy a good fair.

I was not a 4H kid. In fact, when we moved to Olentangy from big-city Reynoldsburg my freshman year, it was the first I’d ever heard of ‘4H.’

The smell of the pig barn makes me gag. I can’t stop my face from scrooching up from the stench. I’m sure the kids sitting around the barns in folding chairs waiting to show their animals think to themselves, Who’s this stuck-up lady with the sour-puss face?

Other than that, I dig the fair. I like the creepy carnival lore, the fried food, the smells, the rides that you think might fall to the ground any minute, and the memories it brings of walking around the Tomato Festival at night as a teen back in the ‘burg, and winning myself a ZZ Top mirror.

What’s a ZZ Top mirror you ask? Why, it’s a small mirror about the size of a license plate with a ZZ Top decal on it.

A couple years ago, we were on a fair tear. We hit the Ohio State Fair, the Champaign County Fair, and the Delaware County Fair in one season. This year, it hasn’t worked out for one reason or another. But we made it to the Delaware County Fair this past weekend.

Here’s the photo recap:

All the animal owners are great about inviting you to pet their animals.

All the animal owners are great about inviting you to pet their animals.

Mama, I'm comin' home...

Mama, I’m comin’ home…

 

The kids were obsessed with taking pictures of the animals. I just don't know where they get this obsessive behavior!

The kids were obsessed with taking pictures of the animals. I just don’t know where they get this obsessive behavior!

Two cute baby goats!

Three adorable baby goats!

You definitely don't get rides like these at Disney.

You definitely don’t get rides like these at Disney.

I'll start lunch off with a corn dog...

I’ll start lunch off with a corn dog…

Then I'll round out my meal with some rainbow sherbet Dippin' Dots.

Then I’ll round out my meal with some rainbow sherbet Dippin’ Dots.

Greta rode the rollercoaster twice.

Greta rode the rollercoaster twice.

 

Mag joined her on the second run.

Mag joined her on the second run.

Leave a Reply

