Favorites

Occasionally I check out a blog called Cupcakes and Cashmere. The gal who writes it has a regular feature called ‘Five Things.’ It’s just a collection of five random things she recently enjoyed during the course of living her apparently fabulous life in L.A. — a Malibu sunset, a homemade macaron, whatever.

So below is my collection of random things from the weekend that I found interesting or noteworthy. Jury’s out on how many I’ll come up with!

Panera’s Squash Soup

Greta is a die-hard tomato soup slurper. Magnus likes their chicken and wild rice soup. Usually I go the tomato route as well but on Friday night, I tried this guy: autumn squash soup. A soup like this at a place like Panera? You’re kind of rolling the dice. But it was good! You need the pepitas though. You need the crunch and texture.

Panera's new, very velvety squash soup with pepitas.

Panera’s new, very velvety squash soup with pepitas.

Pink hair

As a 7th grader, I desperately wanted some pink in my hair. I remember being in the strip mall salon next to Buster Brown’s. The girl cutting my horrible butchy bi-level was totally willing to dye a few streaks. Mom put the kibosh on it. So this weekend, when I went in for my usual weave, Lindsay at J Bentley did a few pink pieces. Don’t worry, boss: it washed out.

Despite my grouchy look here, I loved my temporarily pink hair on Saturday.

Despite my grouchy look here, I loved my temporarily pink hair on Saturday.

Our Neighborhood Halloween Trail & Cookout

Our neighborhood puts on this Halloween shindig — a potluck, kids costume contest, pumpkin painting, and a haunted trail — every other year. Every other year because it’s such a massive effort. They decorate the trail that runs through the woods in the middle of the neighborhood. The first part is the Kiddie Trail, and the second half is just for grown-ups. This year, they lined the Kiddie Trail with lights and Scary Lite decor, and neighbors dressed up like Dorothy, the Lion, the Scarecrow, the Tin Man, the Wicked Witch and Glinda the Good Witch. The second half of the trail – for grownups – was no joke. Holy cow. My sister and I went through together. It was fun. I can’t remember the last time my sister and I held hands like that. We were going down together. It was unbelievable the way the neighbors transformed the trail.

I have loved this every-other-year event since the year we moved in. It was great having my mom and sister there. The kids looked great in their costumes too.

Spiderman and DracuLaura from Monster High. Ironically, this lady vampire lost her tooth the night before.

Spiderman and DracuLaura from Monster High. Ironically, this lady vampire lost her tooth the night before.

Pumpkin painting at the cookout and Haunted Trail.

Pumpkin painting at the cookout and Haunted Trail.

Fall Picnic at the Park

We took McDonald’s to the park today. Greta broke her last McNugget in half to share with her little brother.

Sharing the last McNugget. My heart swelled. And not just from the Whopper Jr. Yes, close reader, I went to a different fast food chain for myself. I can't stand McDonald's food.

Sharing the last McNugget. My heart swelled. And not just from the Whopper Jr I had just wolfed down. Yes, close reader, I went to a different fast food chain for myself. I can’t stand McDonald’s.

Loving life as a 3-year-old.

Loving life as a 3-year-old.

Greta calls these playground thingies the 'Trees of Terror.'

Greta calls these playground thingies the ‘Trees of Terror.’

Sauceless Wings

Add it to the list of things the kids will reliably eat: chicken wings, hold the sauce. It’s basically fried chicken for little people. Easy side dish too — celery and carrot sticks.

Water's Edge Sports Grill by our house has good wings in addition to our favorite pizza.

Water’s Edge Sports Grill by our house has good wings in addition to our favorite pizza.

A food they BOTH like? Add it to the rotation.

A food they BOTH like? Add it to the rotation.

Something’s Missing Here…

I’ll admit, I was in no mood. It was the witching time of night after dinner, before bath when you’re trying to clean up the dishes, set up the coffee maker, take out the trash, boil water so you can make tomorrow night’s dinner in advance, pick up the living room, make a small pile of things that need to go upstairs, and turn down the damn TV.

Magnus wanted to help me take out the trash. He offered, and said he had a light. You need a light? he asked. Yes, that would be so helpful, I said. But, um, before we go outside, I think we’re missing one key thing… His cluelessness made me laugh.

Remember Donald Sutherland in Animal House? That's Magnus.

Remember Donald Sutherland in Animal House? That’s Magnus.

I Can Be…a Movie Star

Greta read me a ‘paper book’ that they made at school called ‘I Can Be…’ Each page features a cook, a doctor, and so on. On the last page, you create your own. I thought Greta’s was pretty impressive.

20131013-200158.jpg

Bubbles

This is what happens when you put bubble bath in a jacuzzi tub.

Safe!

Safe!

Leave a Reply

