Mac & cheese

Homemade, from-scratch, with-love mac & cheese, kids!

Homemade, from-scratch, with-love mac & cheese, kids!

I honestly don’t know how Brian Williams delivers the news every night. One of the final stories tonight was one of those ‘uplifting’ pieces about a little girl who lost her brother and her leg during the Boston marathon bombing. She sang the national anthem at last night’s Boston Red Sox game. Then if that wasn’t enough, the Red Sox hit a home run that tied the game — I guess because all the bases were loaded — and a photographer snapped a great shot of a security cop cheering on the job. I mean, if I were Brian Williams, I would be a puddle.

Anyway, I made a 9″ x 13″ inch pan of homemade mac & cheese tonight, mainly for Magnus. I knew Greta was out. Neither kid touched it.

My friend Jen made this at a neighborhood get-together a few weeks ago and it really hit the spot. She told me it was the Hoggy’s recipe, so that’s what I used.

A couple things:

  • Grate your own cheese if you can. The bagged stuff always seems dried out and covered in a fine powder.
  • Use whatever pasta you have. Instead of macaroni and penne, I used macaroni and radiatore, which is a weird honeycomb shape. It’s what I had.
  • Don’t overcook it; it will get dried out. Also, the recipe doesn’t say to cover it with tin foil but that might be wise. After about 30 minutes covered, I opened the oven door, lifted the foil, and gave it a little stir. Which allowed me to get a large spoonful of gooey, cheesy mac & cheese straight from the pan. OMG. It was creamy and cheesy and sinful. And I’m not a big mac & cheese person at all. But it wasn’t as piping hot as I thought it should be, so I let it go another 10 or so minutes UN-covered, and it wasn’t as good. It was drier and more congealed. So I think undercooking it a bit is the way to go.

I have a contraption on my food processor that grates cheese. It ROCKS!

I have a contraption on my food processor that grates cheese. It ROCKS!

Patsy, I hope you and Frank like mac & cheese!

Patsy, I hope you and Frank like mac & cheese!

Leave a Reply

