The best therapy

20131101-223627.jpg

Before a workout, especially if it’s been a while, you might feel like an unhealthy, pot-bellied blob. You might feel you’re a terrible failure of a mother. You have no friends. Your furniture is old and mismatched. Your carpet is filthy and you need bedroom furniture. Your kids’ bedrooms are disorganized messes and your basement is a landfill of half-broken toddler toys. You don’t pay your babysitter enough and you don’t see your sister enough.

Then poof! You work up a sweat and it doesn’t seem as bad as all that.

Exercise has some magical powers when it comes to your state of mind.

Lately, I’ve been bored with the same old workout. Today, after stopping into LA Fitness and being unimpressed and positively put off by the whole experience, I dragged myself to our usual shitty gym. I put on my old Spinning shoes and did 35 minutes of self-directed Spinning class in the empty aerobics room, followed by some push-ups and stretching. I felt like a new person.

Tomorrow, I am going to try The Yoga Factory in Westerville. At $15 per class, I don’t see how it could become routine. But we’ll see…

Leave a Reply

