Chia seed pudding

20140114-203958.jpg

{Those bubbles are the chia seeds after they’ve soaked overnight}

In the new Food Network magazine, Giada de Laurentiis shares some of her recipes for good health, things she eats to stay in good shape. And believe you me, it’s not pasta carbonara.

I’ve noticed a lot of celebs start their day by getting up at 4:45 a.m., drinking a glass of warm water with lemon (or in Giada’s case, two) and doing hours of yoga. What is it about the warm water? I need my purple Le Creuset mug of high-octane coffee every morning before I can even make conversation with Barrak.

Giada follows up her yoga with this chia seed pudding. Normally I would move on. Chia seeds? No thanks. But we happen to have a bag of chia seeds in our pantry. Barrak bought them because they’re a popular  snack among endurance runners. You can find them at the Vitamin Shop and in the healthy foods section at Kroger. They’re naturally rich in Omega-3s, fiber, antioxidants, protein and amino acids. An ancient Aztec superfood. So what the heck? Let’s give it a try.

20140114-211339.jpg

20140114-211347.jpg

{Chia seeds in the raw}

When you soak the seeds in a mixture of almond milk, Greek yogurt, maple syrup, vanilla and a pinch of salt, they turn into little bubbles, like tapioca. The pudding has to sit overnight — so it’s ready for you when you’re done with your morning yoga session. Or your oversize mug of Starbucks.

Like Giada, I topped mine with toasted almonds. She adds strawberries. I went for blueberries, blackberries and raspberries.

It was pretty good. I think I’m just not good at cold breakfasts. After waking from what seems like a coma most mornings, unless I’m on a balcony overlooking the ocean, I need to be eased back into the land of the living with something like toast, oatmeal, eggs, even a hot Pop-Tart.

It’s a good one when you’re going for healthy, like I am. And if you happen to have chia seeds.

Leave a Reply

