Brown sugar salmon

20140315-211630.jpg

I did it again. I just dove into my dinner like a hungry piggy and completely forgot to take a picture of it all pretty and plated up for blog purposes. I remembered as I was cleaning up, bagging the leftovers of our yummy broiled brown sugar salmon (see above).

Even though the pictures aren’t great, I still wanted to share the recipe because it was really good, with just a few ingredients. And of course, I cannot for the life of me remember where I found this recipe so I can’t just link to it.

But here’s the thing. This recipe is so easy, I can tell you from memory.

Preheat your oven to 450. But um, when my oven temp was around 419 and climbing, it started to smell really wrong in the kitchen. Like smoky. So I just went to 425.

In bowl, mix together 1/3 cup of soy sauce, 1/3 cup of brown sugar, 1/4 cup of olive oil and 1/3 water. Pour it into a Ziploc, add a couple fillets of skinless salmon and let it marinate in the fridge at least two hours. I only had time for one hour and it was still good.

You’re supposed to broil the salmon fillets on a broiler pan. I don’t have one, apparently. So in absence of a broiler pan, I covered a baking sheet with tin foil, then took a roasting rack and laid it completely flat, wrapped it in tin foil, and cut little slits in the tin foil with a sharp knife, so the juices could drain.

Lay the marinated salmon fillets on your real broiler pan or foil-rigged broiler pan. Pitch the marinade.

Broil at 425 (or whatever heat you go to) for 15 minutes. The recipe said 20 but I took it out at 15 to check for doneness because I hate overcooked salmon.

It looked pretty close to me so I moved to the final step: moving the oven rack up higher and broiling for 5 minutes. I took mine out with a minute to go because it was looking sizzly and glazey brown around the edges.

Best place in Columbus to buy salmon: Costco. It’s about $20 for a big package of great-looking salmon, then you can divide it up into individual portions and stow some in the fridge in small Ziploc bags.

20140315-211640.jpg

We had the salmon with sliced avocado, which — with the soy sauce marinade — made it taste sort of like sushi, in a good way. Again, we snarfed that down before I thought to take a picture. Rice would make a good side.

Best place in Columbus to buy avocados: Kroger. I don’t know why. It just is.

Along with all that, we made the side dish I probably make more than any other: roasted asparagus. You can roast it at any temp between 375 and 425 with olive oil, salt & pepper, it’s done in 15-20 minutes, max, and it’s always good. Occasionally the kids will even eat some. No pictures of that either: you’ll just have to take my word for it.

One thought on “Brown sugar salmon

Leave a Reply

