Raspberry crumble bars

 

 

20140511-112135.jpg20140511-112120.jpg

I made a platter of these raspberry crumble bars for my mom for Mother’s Day. I thought these would go really well with hot tea and the British TV mystery DVD I got her, Midsomer Murders, I think it was called.

I found the recipe in a cookbook on loan from my mom: Foolproof by Barefoot Contessa.

The first layer is a thick, buttery shortbread dough pressed flat into a square baking dish.

The second layer is an entire jar of good raspberry jam, spread to the edges with a rubber spatula.

The third layer is a crumble made with some of the shortbread dough you set aside at the beginning, mixed with a handful of granola sans dried fruit.

You top the whole thing with a handful of sliced almonds and bake for 45 minutes.

My kind of dessert. And my mom’s!

Click here for the recipe, courtesy of Barefoot Contessa.

Leave a Reply

