Range of emotions

20140520-210011-75611291.jpg

Today, I felt:

Happy when I woke up. Barrak brought me coffee with cream and four sugars, like he does every morning, and made me laugh with his running color commentary of the Today show.

Satisfied with myself after braiding Greta’s hair in pigtails for her “field day” at school.

Content as I drove out of my neighborhood, the routine of it: the fat pug lounging in his front yard, the woman with the butch haircut who jogs.

Anxious thinking about whether the kids’ field day at school would get rained out.

Amused attending a town hall at work, thinking I really enjoy our business and the interesting people who run it.

Proud when Magnus’s teacher emailed me marveling about how much progress Magnus has made in half a year of preschool, and to confirm I’m bringing the ice cream for tomorrow’s last-day-of-school party.

Grateful for my own blessings when a colleague told me about the four miscarriages he and his wife have suffered.

Inspired when I attended a retirement party at work – a successful 18-year career and now she’s staying home to spend time with her son, a sophomore in high school.

Moved to tears when that woman’s longtime boss, a much feared man due to his temperament, told her, voice cracking, that he couldn’t have achieved half of all he’d done without her help.

Rising panic when I had to say a few words about what our retiring colleague has meant to me over the years.

Fulfilled when I got out of my car and the driveway was filled with kids not my own, and then Magnus rounded the corner of the house and ran straight into me for a hug.

Annoyed when Greta wouldn’t eat the organic chicken tenders I made for her dinner, because they were different.

Embarrassed when our neighbor came over to get his kid and saw how ripped up our patio furniture cushions are.

Inspired when I read Pete Wells’ latest restaurant review in the New York Times. What a beautiful writer.

Joy when the kids were dancing to Wrecking Ball by Miley Cyrus, and I was periodically pressing pause so they would ‘freeze.’

A lot better now that I’m on my second glass of wine.

Hopeful that we could get the kids to bed by 9 p.m. so we could watch an Anthony Bourdain or Louie on DVR.

Doubtful that we will get the kids to bed by 9 p.m. since I just looked at the clock and it’s 8:56 p.m.

P.S. Barefoot Contessa’s frozen Sesame Chicken & Noodles are pretty damn good!

Leave a Reply

