Chicken & wild rice casserole

IMG_5160

In Gwyneth Paltrow’s cookbook “My Father’s Daughter,” she writes something that pops into my head every time I’m about to buy a carton of chicken stock at the grocery store: “Stock from a box is insipid.” Insipid, insipid, insipid, she scoffs in an imaginary bubble above my head. Ouch.

But I have to say, if you can do it, homemade stock really does make a difference.

Last night, I made Trisha Yearwood’s (I’m such a name dropper) chicken and wild rice casserole–one for us, one for my parents. It calls for 3 cups of chicken stock and I happened to have a Tupperware full of homemade turkey stock from when we boiled the carcass of our bird on Saturday. It made this casserole extra flavorful. It needed more salt but really hit the spot tonight. Best of all, Magnus had two helpings (little does he know it has pimientos in it). It’s a keeper.

Click here for the recipe on Food Network’s website.

 

Leave a Reply

