Comfort Food: Chicken broccoli casserole

IMG_5745

{the beauty shot from the cookbook}

Last week, I was in a comfort food frame of mind. The kids have been sick with belly bugs that have caused chronic horking, both my parents are bedridden and recovering from surgeries, and it’s the dead of winter. On top of all that, this goddamn Girl Scout cookie-selling has been a royal pain in the arse.

Comfort food is inexpensive, fast and portable (easy to pack up a portion and run it over to mom’s). The downside is, sometimes it’s too basic, too uninteresting. The three dishes I made last week all came from Trisha Yearwood’s cookbook Georgia Cooking in an Oklahoma Kitchen. A surprisingly good, very basic cookbook. There were some keepers and some duds.

I’ll post them in a series of three…

The first was this Chicken Broccoli Casserole. I thought for sure the kids would like this. It has all the things they like: rice, broccoli and chicken. But do you know what I can do with that logic? Yes, you guessed it: I can throw it right in the trash along with the untouched food on their plates.

The Verdict: Eh. I thought the dish was OK — not creamy enough for me. I probably won’t make it again. It’s TOO basic for grown-ups, and if the kids aren’t going to eat it either, what’s the point?

Here’s the recipe if you’d like to check it out.

P.S. According to the cookbook, Trisha’s husband Garth Brooks likes to eat it for breakfast.

IMG_5711  IMG_5712

{how it looked when I made it}

Leave a Reply

