Playlist for a half marathon

IMG_6026

Yesterday I ran the Cap City Half Marathon. The weather was perfect and the course was great – a trip down memory lane. We started in downtown Columbus, looped around and across the Lane Avenue bridge, down High Street through Ohio State’s campus (right past the UDF where my mom ran for cleaning supplies 5 minutes after setting foot in my new apartment on 12th), around historic German Village, around COSI (where I briefly worked in my twenties) and across the finish line back in the heart of downtown.

The worst part was trying to remember where I parked my car afterward.

Thought you might like to see the songs that kept me going (these randomly played on my iPod shuffle out of 100+):

  • Keep the Car Running – Arcade Fire
  • Cruel Summer – Bananarama
  • Midnight (Giorgio Moroder Remix) – Coldplay
  • Flashdance (What a Feeling) – Irene Cara (Flashdance soundtrack)
  • Gloria – Laura Branigan
  • Solsbury Hill – Peter Gabriel
  • Timber (feat. Ke$ha) – Pitbull
  • I Am Goodbye – Bonnie “Prince” Billy
  • Burst Generator – Chemical Brothers
  • All My Life – Foo Fighters
  • How You Like Me Now – The Heavy
  • Maniac – Michael Sembello
  • Empire State of Mind (feat. Alicia Keys) – Jay Z
  • What Is and What Should Never Be – Led Zeppelin
  • Don’t Stop Til You Get Enough – Michael Jackson
  • To Love Somebody (remix) – Nina Simone
  • Run Like Hell – Pink Floyd
  • None of Dem – Robyn
  • Real Gone – Sheryl Crow (Cars soundtrack)
  • Beautiful Day (remix) – U2
  • Intro – The XX

The songs I listen to during the last mile are important to me because I’m usually on fumes by then and in need of mental inspiration. Surprisingly, a slow song can be just as effective as a hard-driving one because it has a settling effect. Here were the songs I heard in the final mile:

  • Running with the Devil – Van Halen
  • Stay (feat. Mikky Ekko) – Rihanna
  • Uptown Funk (feat. Bruno Mars) – Mark Ronson

Bless you, David Lee Roth.

Leave a Reply

