Beauty buys of the week

IMG_7087 IMG_7088

As I’ve written on this blog before, I am a longtime fan of the Paula’s Choice skin care line, founded by Paula Begoun of “Don’t Go the Cosmetics Counter Without Me” fame. Her toners, exfoliating BHA liquid and really gentle benzoyl peroxide lotions are some of my perennial faves. And I just got a couple new products that I’m pretty happy with.

Anti-Aging Eye Cream
For many years, Paula has maintained that if you’re using the right facial moisturizer that doesn’t contain irritants, you should be able to use it around your eyes — no separate eye cream needed. So it’s a big deal that she has finally come out with an anti-aging eye cream. And it’s worth the wait. It has the consistency of really thick shea butter (remember Elmer’s paste with the stick in the middle?) so it stays put and doesn’t creep into your eyes and cause tears. It smooths and blends really easily and plumps my tired eyes. I can literally see fine lines sort of blur away. I put it on in the morning and at night.

Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Refine Retinol Serum
After recently reading yet another article where a dermatologist says retinol is one of the 3 must-haves in any woman’s beauty arsenal (the other two? antioxidants and ceramides), I went in search of a retinol product. Prescription-strength has always been too much for me. Lots of derms recommend RoC as an OTC option but it has caused me breakouts in the past. Avon supposedly has a good one but where the heck do you buy Avon?

So I did what I always do when I need beauty product advice: I asked my sister. Branda is a gifted makeup artist, certified aesthetician and fellow Paula fan. She uses this retinol serum from Paula’s Resist line (for anti-aging). I love how light the clear serum goes on, the dewy glow it provides and the hint of retinol that makes it OK for nightly use. The official marketing claims say it repairs wrinkles and sun damage, builds collagen and diminishes dark spots. Maybe it’s my imagination but I feel like the out-out-brown spot on my cheek has already faded a little bit.

Leave a Reply

