Last week’s dinners

I don’t know about you but I struggle to figure out what to make for dinner most nights. Back in my 20s when I only had to worry about myself, it was a rotation of buttered toast, Lean Cuisines, salad bars and take-out sushi. One of my favorite dinners when I lived in L.A. was microwaved popcorn and a container of cut-up watermelon from the grocery store. Now with an 8-year-old and 5-year-old, it’s a lot harder.

I am constantly asking other women — I guess mostly my sister — what they’re making for dinner, just to get some ideas. So in case it helps anyone, here’s what we had for dinner last week.

Monday
Pioneer Woman’s Buffalo chicken salad with Gwyneth Paltrow’s homemade blue cheese dressing (I used regular mayo instead of Veganaise and omitted the shallots b/c I didn’t have any; this is a good recipe that I use a lot)

Tuesday
Barrak had a thing with his friends so the kids and I went to Texas Roadhouse to support the school (10% of your bill goes to the school) and see their friends. It was the first time I’d been there and not as gross as I expected. I had a cold Stella and some BBQ ribs.

Wednesday
Pioneer Woman’s penne a la vodka with sautéed shrimp (I used jarred vodka sauce by Carfagna’s) and I didn’t toss the shrimp in with the pasta as you are supposed to do b/c the kids won’t eat it) and roasted asparagus (I grated parm on mine)

IMG_7189 IMG_7190

Thursday
Barrak and I had cold turkey & tomato sandwiches and the kids had baked chicken tenders and green beans (steamed in the bag, with butter and salt)

Friday
The kids and I went to Molly Woo’s for Chinese (the kids had white rice, noodles and edamame). It was god-awful and nearly $80. What a kick in the pants.

P.S. This is my 299th blog post!

Leave a Reply

