Dinner A Love Story: Porcupine Meatballs

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

{What do you think of this fancy slide show?!?}

I discovered the Bon Appetit podcast back in April. Love it. If you like podcasts, I highly recommend. One of their guests is a woman named Jenny Rosenstrach. She’s a magazine writer / working mom / cookbook writer / blogger. I really got into her Dinner: A Love Story blog while we were on vacation in July so I bought her book.

It’s the kind of book I read in bed at night, like a novel. She has a great writing style and I relate to her laments about parenting, her memories of growing up in the 80s, trying to have some semblance of a solid dinner tradition as a working mother.  There are a few notable differences though. Her husband sounds a little more…. how can I put this…on the same page? She doesn’t seem to have to report to an office every day, although she did when her kids were younger. And her family is more open-minded about food. For starters.

Last week, I made her Porcupine Meatballs. I thought for sure I could get a win with this on name alone. It calls for uncooked rice in the meatballs, so as they braise in a sweet tomato sauce (tomato juice, brown sugar, a dash of Worcestershire sauce) the rice puffs and sticks out of the meatball like the spikes on a porcupine. It tastes sort of like stuffed red peppers.

I got home late and immediately set to work. It was 8 p.m. when we sat down.

The Verdict: One kid ended up sobbing in their room. The other went to bed hungry. Husband said “at least it was meat” and returned to the couch. I thought it was fine. But does it really matter?

Leave a Reply

