Kale & butternut squash

IMG_4977 IMG_4981

We were invited to watch the Ohio State – Michigan State game with our neighbors last night. They grilled Jamaican jerk wings and Buffalo chicken tenders, made from-scratch pigs in a blanket, and set out a hot cheese, corn and black bean dip. I wanted to bring a dip or munchie of some sort but we’re trying to eat more veggies and generally be more healthful, so I went looking for an alternative to my usual sour cream and mayo-based favorites.

I saw this butternut squash and kale recipe on the Pioneer Woman’s site. It’s a simple mixture that she uses to make quesadillas or pasta. I thought it would be good on baguette slices spread with goat cheese. (A few years ago, Barrak and I had a similar appetizer at Third and Hollywood in Grandview: braised greens in a little Staub dutch oven, with crostini and home-made ricotta).

I bought a baguette at Panera, sliced it, drizzled it with olive oil, sprinkled kosher salt and baked them for about 10 minutes in a 400 degree oven. I took those, a little log of goat cheese and the butternut squash-kale mixture to the party. Then you just kind of lay it all out on the counter and assemble as you please. It seemed like people liked it. Barrak used the leftovers in an egg scramble this morning.

One modification I made to PW’s recipe: she seasons the squash with chili powder but I couldn’t find mine so I used garam masala. That’s the spice I use when I make butternut squash soup, and I love the way they taste together. Just sweetens it up and gives it a vaguely Indian flavor. You don’t need much – maybe 1/2 a teaspoon.

Click here for the recipe.

P.S. I learned my lesson last time I peeled butternut squash… do NOT put the peelings down the garbage disposal!

 

Leave a comment